Passport Rules For Travel To Europe After Brexit: Advice for British passport holders in the unlikely event of the UK leaving the EU without a deal

Note: All the wordings are the excerpt from the UK government website. I don’t want to explain it myself because I want it to be verbatim, thus I just copied and then posted in here the most important information regarding passport rules for travel to Europe after Brexit. The links are posted at the end of this article for your further guidance.

This was published by the Home Office Passport Office last September 13, 2018.

“The entry requirements for British passport holders, including those with passports issued by the Crown Dependencies (Guernsey, Isle of Man, and Jersey) and Gibraltar, travelling to Schengen area countries will change after the UK leaves the EU.

After 29 March 2019, you’ll need to check the details of your passport and, if necessary, apply for a new one before you travel to a Schengen area country. For most people no action will be required, but if your passport will be older than 9 years and 6 months on the date you plan to travel, you will need to renew it in advance.”

Rules for passports

The rules for travel to most countries in Europe will change if the UK leaves the European Union (EU) with no deal.

After 29 March 2019:

  1. You should have 6 months left on your passport from your date of arrival. This applies to adult and child passports.
  2. If you renewed a 10 year adult passport before it expired, extra months may have been added to your passport’s expiry date. These extra months will not count.

The new rules will apply to passports issued by the UK, Gibraltar, Guernsey, the Isle of Man and Jersey.

List of countries affected

The new rules will apply for travel to and between countries in the Schengen area. These are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Travel to other EU countries

The new rules do not apply when travelling to Ireland.

Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania are not in the Schengen area. You should check the entry requirements for these countries.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Start a Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: